A new theatrical (sort of) adventure!

I get to the theatre about once…maybe twice…a year.  I’ll admit, I’m not always all that adventurous when it comes to the shows I choose.  Hell, I saw Wicked five…yes, FIVE…times!  Within 2 1/2 years.  So, yeah, didn’t make many big leaps there.  There’s so much good theatre in Chicago too!  Jersey Boys, The Lion King, Mary Poppins, The Sound of Music, Phantom of the Opera, Miss Saigon, Rent…I could go on.  I did see Mame last December…that was okay.  I take my mother and her two sisters (who all have birthdays in December) to a show for their combination Birthday/Christmas present.  One viewing of Wicked was a present for them – and for me.  Mame was their present in 2008.  We took Gram to that one too.  I think she enjoyed it quite a bit!  I know she enjoyed lunch. 🙂

So, as a person who 1) has a degree and back ground in theatre, 2) has friends currently, actively, BRILLIANTLY working in Chicago theatre, and 3) loves, loves, loves musicals, why don’t I go to the theatre more?  Why am I not as versed in Musical Theatre as I should be?  Good question.

I fulfill most of my Musical Theatre needs through what is available on TV or DVD.  Sunday in the Park with George, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, Into the Woods – I have them all on DVD.  Sometimes I’ll “cheat” and watch the movie musical version of a show…just to get my fix.  I know it’s not the same, but it’s affordable.

Given all of this, you know I had to be excited when I saw the announcement that Idina Menzel would be appearing in a concert version of Chess.  No, it’s not the same thing.  But, really, how often is Chess performed?  I know I can’t remember it being in Chicago.  (Of course, that doesn’t mean too much – they say the memory is the first to go as one ages.)  I’ll admit that I’ve never seen a production of Chess.  Honestly, One Night in Bankok is the only song I know – and that’s only because it was a “pop” hit back when I was in high school. Hell, I didn’t even know it was from a stage production!

Therefore, I can be counted on to purchase this DVD when it becomes available in June.  If I remember, I’ll even watch the PBS airing of the concert.  I’m looking forward to it.

Posted on May 1, 2009, in Musical theatre. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

