Next step (cross post)

ve just taken the next big step for me. I’ve ordered The Cambridge Diet. It’s a diet/nutrition plan that my mother and I used a long time ago to GREAT success. So I’m giving it another go.

The thing I like about this plan is the flexibility – it can be used to lose fast, lose steadily, or to maintain. And it’s safe. I’ve discussed it with doctors in the past and again recently. Always there are precautions – notice something a little wonky like being nauseous, then stop using. But, in all, it’s a good plan.

Part of the flexibility is also combining the “programs” to work best for me. There’s the “only Cambridge” plan that means no food at all – just the product. And there’s the “regular” plan that includes one low calorie meal per day. I plan to combine the two plans – one week “on” and one week “off”. So a week with only Cambridge, then a week with one low calorie meal.

I’m sure I’ll find ways to be creative too – I’ll be looking for ways to make water taste better. LOL

Some may believe this to be a “cop-out” and that I’m really not putting in the work. Trust me when I say, “I’ll be doing the work!” Curves is still a big part of my plan. I’m working out there 3 times a week right now and I’m hoping to increase that to 4 times a week by the end of May.

I’m not going to be taking diet pills – I refuse to fall into an addiction like that. I’ve seen it happen to family and friends too often. They either gain every pound back once they stop taking the pills (and gain them back very fast) or they become truly addicted to the drug. No thanks.

I won’t be having the gastric bypass surgery. Though I do believe that surgery is a highly viable option for people – I’ve had friends who’ve had incredible success with it. It’s just not for me. I’m very sure that I would be a candidate for the surgery, I just don’t want to make that leap unless a doctor tells me I have to or I’ll die. I don’t want my weight loss to be the result of a surgical procedure.

The Cambridge Diet is going to help me level my caloric intake, while still providing me with all of the things my body needs to be healthy. I do believe that my intake of vitamins, minerals, and proteins will be a hell of a lot better than it is now!

I’ll let you all know when the product arrives, when I officially start, and will be sure to keep you all posted on my progress/success with this.

Posted on April 30, 2009, in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hmmm. That Cambridge Diet sounds very interesting. I’ve been thinking about something like this. I’m definitely putting in the workouts, just stuck at a certain weight and I’m trying to break through. I’ll be looking forward to see how well it works for you along with your workouts. Good luck with it Carleen, I wish you the best in your quest.

    • I’ll definitely let you know, Anna! What’s nice about it, is the “fast program” is great for folks who just need to safely lose that last 10-15 pounds. It’s also good for just getting started. If it stays true to how well it worked for me before, then it should be good! 🙂

      Thanks for the support!

  2. I really truly don’t think that you’re a candidate for bypass surgery – and I think the approach you’re taking is sound. Good for you and on you – it’s tough, tough work to get healthy and then to maintain it. But you’ve made that decision, taken the time to think of your approach, and you’re on your way. I know you’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

